The 2021 nominations are now closed;

Awards Ceremonies: 4 virtual events starting April 15  – May 6, 2021;

You can view the 2021 shortlist in each category below


The National BAME Health & Care Awards

Award Ceremony – 15th  April 

Health and wellbeing advocate 

Compassionate and Inclusive Leader – Network 

Compassionate and Inclusive Leader – Initiative 

Compassionate and Inclusive Leader – Role Model  

Workforce Innovator 

Click Here to access the ceremony at 5pm on April 15th

Click Here to read the first winners’ story

Award Ceremony – 22nd  April 

Clinical Champion  

Community Initiative of the Year 

Digital Champion 

Emergency and critical care healthcare professional.  

Ground-breaking researcher  

Click Here to access the ceremony at 5pm on April 22nd

Award Ceremony – 29th  April 

Inspiring Diversity and Inclusion Lead – Initiative  

Inspiring Diversity and Inclusion Lead – Role model  

Mental Health Initiative  

Outstanding Corporate Achievement of the Year  

Click Here to access the ceremony at 5pm on April 29th

Award Ceremony – 6th May

BAME Midwife of the Year  

BAME Nurse of the Year 

Outstanding Contribution to social care  

Outstanding Achievement of the Year

Click Here to access the ceremony at 5pm on May 6th


Why are the National BAME Health & Care Awards important?

Currently, 10.6% of children and family social workers, one in five nurses, more than one in three doctors, and one in six of all NHS staff are from Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) backgrounds. Yet many studies have shown BAME staff are under-represented in senior roles and experience discrimination in their career in health care services. These awards create a significant opportunity for ensuring recognition of staff who show ambition and vision in securing access and service improvements for BAME communities

Who organises the National BAME Health & Care Awards?

A group of passionate volunteers from the health and care sector,  in collaboration with Colourful Healthcare CIC, are launching the awards in 2019 to champion the importance of recognising BAME talent and innovation in the sector.

How do I enter?

Nominations open July 2020 and will close in 28th October 2020. You can enter yourself, suggest a colleague or be nominated. Go to the nominations page and enter digitally (online) or you can download the Word version of the nomination form.

Who can enter the BAME Health & Care Awards?

Nominees must be either a current employee or a staff team in a health or care service in the statutory, voluntary or private sector in the UK (England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland).

How are the awards funded?

Table sales and sponsorship –  contact us about our sponsorship packages.

What happens with my nomination?

Our panel of expert judges will review the applications, draw up a shortlist and select the winner in each of the award categories. See the panel of  judges page.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in the first-quarter (Q1) of 2021 to celebrate their achievements, share best practice, and to champion BAME inclusion throughout the health and care sector.

Do I have to tell the person I am nominating them?

We advise that you inform anyone you are nominating that you have done so (and tell them the ceremony date), although this is at your own discretion.

How many categories are there?

There are 16 awards categories. For full details, please visit the nominations process page.

    Who can attend the awards ceremony?

    Anyone can attend. For ticket information, please contact us.  Look out for our notifications about ticket release on social media.

    When is the awards ceremony?

    The Awards ceremony will take place in central London Q1 2021. More details will be released as we monitor the current COVID-19 situation, so follow us on social media (@BAME_HCA ) to keep up to date with the latest news!

    Who should I contact if I have any questions about the Awards process?

    Should you need further information please contact the team at